At Creative Arts we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Programme which is made up of six areas of Learning and Development. All areas of Learning and Development are connected to one another and are equally important. All areas of Learning and Development are underpinned by the Principles of the Early Years Foundation Stage Profile where each child is a competent learner.

Physical development

  • Movement
  • A sense of space
  • Health and bodily awareness
  • Using equipment
  • Using tools and materials

Knowledge & understanding of the world

  • Exploration and investigation
  • Designing and making skills
  • Information and communication technology
  • A sense of time
  • A sense of place
  • Cultures and beliefs

Mathematical development

  • Numbers as labels and for counting
  • Calculating
  • Shape, space and measures

Creative development

  • Exploring media and materials
  • Music
  • Imagination
  • Responding to experiences and expressing and communicating ideas

Communication, language & literacy

  • Language for communication
  • Language for thinking
  • Linking sounds and letters
  • Reading
  • Writing
  • Handwriting

Personal, social & emotional development

  • Dispositions and attitudes
  • Self-confidence and self-esteem
  • Making relationships
  • Behaviour and self-control
  • Self-care
  • Sense of community